Roz Bound…. and snipe drumming in the marshes

Roz Bound is the new Featured Writer with her inspirational new collection The Fireman’s Child.  I have known Roz for some years and last time we met we walked to the end of the Cobb in Lyme Regis, her soul place, before she flew back to Canada (where she lives) to start a Doctorate in Wisdom Spirituality.  Roz is a deeply inspiring person and, having just turned 60 myself, she makes me realise there are new avenues to explore based on all the accrued experience of the last 6 decades.  She called it wisdom, I think.  I love her poems for their honesty and poignancy, using ordinary language to mine her life for new discoveries.  Now that I am 60 I intend to use the time to consider what I also need to resolve.

But yesterday the sky larks on the moors were effervescent with the feeling of spring.  In the evening the wind dropped and it seemed a good moment to search for the beautiful snipe beside the boggy lands below the nearby tor.  It was 8.30pm when we arrived and sheep were bleating to their lambs and birds were singing their hearts out in the trees along the brook.  In the valley the ringers were practising on the church bells. To hear the courtship of the snipe it needs to be quiet.  8.30 was a bit too early so we had to wait for the birds to stop singing (and none of them wants to be the first to do so) and the moon and a star or two to appear.  As dusk falls there is always a sense of expectation.  Darkness seems to swoop in by degrees, in gradation. Then the female snipe start calling something like squeaky bicycle wheels, sharp, insistent, shocking cries. They, too, have to wait for the right moment for the males to respond with their whirring, droning mouth-organy hum.  I thought I saw a bird shape in the sky but assumed I was imagining it. Something caught my eye whisking through the reeds.

Last night in the near-dark their eerie sound was suddenly all around us though we couldn’t see them. It was as if they flew round and round us on a leash. Were they flying far above us or skimming near the ground?  It was as though we had encountered an ancient ritual and ghosts were humming through the air. On a moonlit night apparently the ‘drumming’ continues all night. Why anyone called it drumming I don’t know because it sure isn’t drumming!

I found this amazing information on a BBC website about some recent research and I quote it to you:

‘By going fast and making a lot of noise, the bird is showing prospective mates how fit it is.

The males have a “special tail feather that it can stick out”, Dr Ennos said.

The feathers have a weakened hinge region in their rear vane. The birds dive to increase their speed and make a more attractive higher-pitched sound.

During its courtship display, the male climbs to an altitude of about 50m (165 feet) before diving at about 40 degrees with its two outer tail feathers extended.

The researchers found that when the male birds reached a speed of 50km/h (31mph), the outer feathers produced an audible sound.

The feathers continued to produce the sound until the bird reaches speeds of more than 86km/h (53mph).’

Now how amazing is that?  I shall be out there on still, dry nights for the next two weeks or so because once you have heard it you can’t get enough of it!  And I love the snipe. There are two poems about them in A Handful of Water.

About Rebecca Gethin

Rebecca Gethin is a poet and a novelist. Cinnamon Press published her third collection, All the Time in the World in 2017. Another pamphlet is forthcoming with Three Drops Press. Her second novel, What the horses heard, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2014. Her second poetry collection - A Handful of Water - was published by Cinnamon in 2013. Her first - River is the Plural of Rain - was published by Oversteps Books in 2009. Her novel Liar Dice won the Cinnamon Press Novel Writing Award in 2010 and was published in 2011. She lives on Dartmoor and writes occasional pieces about wildlife and nature. Her poems appear in a variety of poetry magazines and in several anthologies.
This entry was posted in Rebecca Gethin, Roz Bound. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roz Bound…. and snipe drumming in the marshes

  1. mavisgulliver says:

    A lovely piece Rebecca – my last home on the sise of Colonsay was surrounded by marshland and I could hear the snipe through my open bedroom window before falling asleep. What better lullaby than that! You’ve made me realise how much I miss the sound. I’m not too far away from where they are, in fact I often flush them when we’re out walking, but unfortunately they’re not in places conducive to night-time strolls.

    • How amazing. What a lullaby. Getting to them can be tricky! Finding you have walked out across a bog and forgotten the torch to find the path back with is something i would not want to repeat! I have just thought it is something like a gentle gong reverberation.

  2. mavisgulliver says:

    That was supposed to read Isle of Colonsay in case you’re wondering! Interesting point about bogs – they’re one of our main habitats here on Islay and I have a poem about there always being a bog between me and the place I want to go!

  3. I love this, Becky! Beautifully evocative.

  4. E.E. Nobbs says:

    Becky – I love your descriptions of the snipes conversing. I will now think of your female snipes when my bicycle squeaks 🙂 And yes – that’s amazing about the males. Hope they have know when to put those tail-brakes on!!

    And I enjoyed the poems by Roz. I’ve just emailed her to see about getting a copy of her latest book sent over to Prince Edward ISLAND! I I enjoyed heading you both talk of each other and your friendship. What you both said about making use of the past, as a way to help make new discoveries – is something I want to ponder upon, also.

    So thanks, both of you x

Leave a Reply

