The Island Review and Abegail Morley’s Handful review

    An exciting email awaited me – from Malachy Tallack who edits The Island Review: a whole page is dedicated to two of my island poems: Loom which is sort-of about lighthouses seen from Rathlin, and Landfall, a sort-of story about a man on Thoraigh Island. As Jen Hadfield is the poetry editor I feel incredibly honoured indeed.  (For those that don’t know the loom is the dark side of the lighthouse’s flash of light or that’s how I interpreted it anyway.)

    To explain: The Island Review describes itself as ‘an online magazine dedicated to great writing and visual art that comes from, is inspired by, celebrates or seeks to understand the extraordinary appeal of islands, as places and as metaphors.’ If you, like me, have strong feelings for islands you will fall for this beautiful and fascinating website, very professional-looking too. It makes me question my notion of what constitutes an ‘island’.

    The very nice Abegail Morley has kindly written a review of my Handful book and you can see it here on the Handful of Water page.  The launch is this Thursday evening at Rattery in Devon and anyone is welcome. You can also catch me reading from it later in the year at Exeter Uncut (July), Torbay Poetry Festival (Oct) and at the Poetry Café in London (Nov). More about this and t’others under News and Events.

About Rebecca Gethin

Rebecca Gethin is a poet and a novelist. Cinnamon Press published her third collection, All the Time in the World in 2017. Another pamphlet is forthcoming with Three Drops Press. Her second novel, What the horses heard, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2014. Her second poetry collection - A Handful of Water - was published by Cinnamon in 2013. Her first - River is the Plural of Rain - was published by Oversteps Books in 2009. Her novel Liar Dice won the Cinnamon Press Novel Writing Award in 2010 and was published in 2011. She lives on Dartmoor and writes occasional pieces about wildlife and nature. Her poems appear in a variety of poetry magazines and in several anthologies.
This entry was posted in Rebecca Gethin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Island Review and Abegail Morley’s Handful review

  1. Roz Bound says:

    Wonderful news!! Congratulations,! Hope all still goes well – I heard from your friend Elly Nobbs and sent her a book – nice connection, thanks to your blog. Love, Roz

    • Hi Roz, over there in Canada. V delighted to hear that connecting-up is going on behind the scenes. Yay! Thanks for congrats too. Love Bx

      • E.E. Nobbs says:

        Hey you two 🙂

        Becky mentioned Roz’s name to me 2 or 3 times over the last few years …so I was determined to make use of the golden opportunity of Roz being featured on Becky’s blog to say hello – from Prince Edward Island to Prince Edward County (Ontario). I was debating which book to get but I decided on The Fireman’s Child. It’s striking a chord with me – the subject matter and its direct style; and eventually I plan to post a few thoughts on my blog.

        Elly x

  2. Valerie Morton says:

    I just got my Handful of Water and it looks fantastic – congratulations. I have only dipped a finger in so far and love what I read so am looking forward to taking it down to Devon with me next week and having a bodyful when there will be nothing to disturb my thoughts except the seagulls. I am going to read the review on The Poetry Shed but couldn’t get into it from your link for some reason, but I have my ways. I hope I might be able to get to your reading in London in November – Valerie

Leave a Reply

