Stella Wulf and The Song of the Froom

Stella Wulf is the new Featured Writer. She is a wonderful poet and artist as well as a writer of children’s books and this shines through in her writing for children: her visual mind, her poetic mind.

TheSongOfTheFroom

Here’s my review of Stella Wulf’s The Song of the Froom: 

‘An irresistible map at the beginning of this delicious book tells us we are entering a different world. It is full of well-rounded characters any child (or adult) could relate to and who all play wonderful tricks with language. Stella Wulf has given everyone fantastic names. The story is about a quest to find Piper’s lost voice because he must be able to sing up the Spring. The world depends upon it. Success soon becomes the business of everyone he and his Snoozle friend, Snoot meet on their way. Piper’s responsibilities grow wider and it becomes clear that finding his voice is linked to all the problems faced by the creatures – by the ferrets, wolves, eagles, boodogs etc – that the two friends meet. There is a wonderful care for the natural world to enjoy and lots of details to talk about in this book. Piper, the brave little Froom and his companion, Snoot are never fully described because Stella Wulf trusts our imaginations to do that work. A really classic mythic-type story (with animals who each do whatever is in their power to help but realistically no more) set in a believable and contemporary way. This book deserves to be widely read by children of all ages.’

Published by herself the book gets little or no publicity or promotion and as life in general seems to have become just like Facebook  things that aren’t here and now disappear rapidly from view. (Or did we just invent Facebook in our own image?) From today’s Guardian Weekend mag here is one answer to the poor neglected books in this era of too many distractions?

stephen-collins-on-holida-largest

 

About Rebecca Gethin

Rebecca Gethin is a poet and a novelist. Cinnamon Press published her third collection, All the Time in the World in 2017. Another pamphlet is forthcoming with Three Drops Press. Her second novel, What the horses heard, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2014. Her second poetry collection - A Handful of Water - was published by Cinnamon in 2013. Her first - River is the Plural of Rain - was published by Oversteps Books in 2009. Her novel Liar Dice won the Cinnamon Press Novel Writing Award in 2010 and was published in 2011. She lives on Dartmoor and writes occasional pieces about wildlife and nature. Her poems appear in a variety of poetry magazines and in several anthologies.
This entry was posted in Stella Wulf. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stella Wulf and The Song of the Froom

  1. Stella Wulf says:

    This is wonderful, Becky, thank you so much! What a glowing review! I’m going to share it wherever I can and put a link on my website. What more can we do to promote our books? I became disillusioned quite quickly after my initial promotional push. I sent copies of the book accompanied by a very polite introductory letter, to at least a dozen prep schools and all the independent book shops I could find addresses for. I must have sent out over a hundred copies. The response was appalling in that there was virtually no response at all. No acknowledgement or polite ‘thanks but no thanks,’ just nothing. I think I had three responses in total, all favourable. One, the headmaster of Terrington Hall prep school, loved it and gave me a great review and a contact at the international school in Toulouse. They took 20 copies for their school library and said they would consider it as their set text. Other than that I felt like I was banging my head against a wall and my confidence took a real tumble. Since then I’ve sold the odd copy at private do’s and exhibitions but my heart wasn’t in it because I’d stopped believing in myself. You’ve revived my confidence Becky and I’m so grateful and honoured. I think you’re a wonderful writer and it’s been a pleasure to have met you, albeit at a distance.

    Stella X

    • Crikey, Stella. That is a helluva lot of disappointment and downright rudeness to cope with. You have my heartfelt sympathies. But please don’t lose hope and keep on selling the book where you can. It’s lovely and anyone who is lucky enough to find it and you will be very thankful that they did. Please don’t lose faith in yourself again. You have a great fund of creativity in many directions.

  2. Stella Wulf says:

    Wonderful, Becky! I do hope this will encourage anyone with kids (or not) to track down my book. Amazon is very accessible! What the Horses Heard is a cracking read – I loved it! Thank you,
    Stella X

  3. E.E. Nobbs says:

    Hi Becky and Stella,

    Based on what I read here and at Stella’s site, I’ve just ordered a print copy from Amazon.com. I want very much to read it myself- and afterwards I’ll hand it over to my grand-nieces – aged 11 & 9.

    And yes – I agree that we have to work together to highlight & keep available good work!!

    Elly

  4. A lovely review of a lovely book. I can echo what Rebecca says. The Song of the Froom is a magical and utterly charming piece. I loved it. Stella has such an imaginative way with words and isn’t afraid to break the rules. I can relate to her frustration in trying to publicise a book. Mind you, I haven’t worked nearly so hard. I think it’s utterly appalling how publishers and others can’t even manage a polite ‘Thank you but no’. It’s a sign of our times, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

