A Handful of Water reviewed in The North

I probably shouldn’t (because it’s ‘bragging’ and I was told not to) but I am going to.. it’s exciting for me and a great honour. So here goes (cough)… the newest issue of The North carries a review of my A Handful of Water. What’s more it’s written by Wendy Klein who is herself a marvellous poet with two superb books of her own, Cuba in the Blood and Anything in Turquoise. (The North and Wendy Klein….(gasp)!!!!)

She kindly wrote: Every piece of this beautifully presented collection is achieved with economy and precision and delivered with delicacy.

You can read the rest of what she says here. Thank you, Wendy.

She also reviews Jo Hemmant’s The Light Knows Tricks (Doire Press); David Cooke’s Workhorses (Ward Wood Publishing) and Michael Bartholemew Briggs’ Fred and Blossom (Shoestring Press).

You can subscribe to The North here and this is what they offer in each issue:

A lively range of contemporary poetry by new and established writers.
A broad spectrum of book reviews, from mainstream publishers to the smaller presses – sympathetic, rigorous.
Critical articles, conversations with writers, autobiography.
‘Blind Criticism’: two or three writers put their heads on the block and comment on a poem without knowing who wrote it.
‘Poets I Go Back To’: writers reveal which poets from the past have most influenced them.
‘The Collection’: writers talk about books that are important to them.
Plus occasional ‘Brief Guides To …’ well known poets (for example, John Killick on Douglas Dunn, Anna Adams on Elizabeth Bishop).

This current edition is a bumper one. I think you can also get single copies. These independent magazines need all the support they can get. (I mourn the demise of the beautiful and distinguished The SHOp.)

About Rebecca Gethin

Rebecca Gethin is a poet and a novelist. Cinnamon Press published her third collection, All the Time in the World in 2017. Another pamphlet is forthcoming with Three Drops Press. Her second novel, What the horses heard, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2014. Her second poetry collection - A Handful of Water - was published by Cinnamon in 2013. Her first - River is the Plural of Rain - was published by Oversteps Books in 2009. Her novel Liar Dice won the Cinnamon Press Novel Writing Award in 2010 and was published in 2011. She lives on Dartmoor and writes occasional pieces about wildlife and nature. Her poems appear in a variety of poetry magazines and in several anthologies.
This entry was posted in Rebecca Gethin. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Handful of Water reviewed in The North

  1. That’s wonderful! I loved A Handful of Water and am glad it’s getting recognition.

  2. Thank you. Thank you. I had no idea you had it, let alone liked it. Wowee.

  3. Stella Wulf says:

    I recently received my copy of A Handful of Water and I’m looking forward to reading it. Obviously, I’ve scanned through the book and I can’t wait to read it properly when all my family go back home. The North looks like a must buy too. I’ll definitely be checking that out. Crow all you want Becky, it’s a well deserved success!

  4. Jeepers, Stella….. you are a tonic! I hope it lives up to what Wendy said! ( I honestly dont know why she said such amazing things!)

  5. E.E. Nobbs says:

    As you know I have _A Handful of Water_ and it’s one of the favourite collections on my bookshelves 🙂 Glad to see you getting such a rave review in such a well respected publication. I like how the reviewer picks out some of the many places where you shine – your precision, your way with sonnets, your way with language, and your fearlessness as a poet. Hurrah!!

  6. Thank you so much, Elly, and I really didn’t expect anything so nice.

  7. chris willis says:

    I have loved both your novels …..now I am definitely going to start on your poetry xxxx Chris

Leave a Reply

