My new year, my new Barefoot Book biz!

My new venture this new year is to become an ’ambassador’ for Barefoot Books who publish fantastic children’s books. It all fits with my deeply held belief that reading is a vital part of our learning by which I mean learning about life from the heart and that children will choose the books that interest them. Just as we do as adults!

moon and boat

I am really excited about this because during my early career as an English teacher in my early 20’s I spent a lot of my energies promoting reading and every week I’d take children in my various classes to the library and I set up a Book Club.  (By the way, just for the record, when I left that school the children clubbed together and bought me my first collie puppy..yes, a real live one! She was called Lucy and lived to a good old age.) I bet lots of those people are still reading as I just know it must have worked.

b0954f47108e4be82a851af9d27d79be

Later, in Family Education I was very inspired by Heuristic Play where you give children a number of household or ordinary objects and let them explore while you observe without interfering, and by Treasure Basket play for babies who are able sit up unaided. Children learn what they need to learn when given good choices. Parents were often astounded when I explained about the idea of Schemas, whereby all children explore their worlds through a number of repetitive activities, such as tying things up or enclosing things or watching things rotate. So children who are always in trouble for say, throwing things are only investigating the ‘trajectory schema’. It sometimes made a world of difference. Knowledge is dynamite!

ClassicPoems_HC_W_1

Anyway, my new project is both inspiring and daunting. But how to start? Such a lot to take in!

I suppose this is one way to start … to tell you all about it and to give you the website www.rebecca-gethin.barefootbooks.com and let you know there’s a big Sale on until Feb 2nd. Later, I will be selling locally at stalls and hopefully be able to meet lots of parents at school events and help their children to choose books which may give them a love of reading throughout their life, a most wonderful resource.

Also you could do this, too and join me! More info on that website. (It’s this not-so-newish thing called social marketing. I have to get my head round that aspect, too.)

Here is 18 months old Angus sampling one of my Barefoot book called I took the moon for a walk.

DSC02728bb2a6c5eb3007af39d9a0e13b2ce0104

 

 

About Rebecca Gethin

Rebecca Gethin is a poet and a novelist. Cinnamon Press published her third collection, All the Time in the World in 2017. Another pamphlet is forthcoming with Three Drops Press. Her second novel, What the horses heard, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2014. Her second poetry collection - A Handful of Water - was published by Cinnamon in 2013. Her first - River is the Plural of Rain - was published by Oversteps Books in 2009. Her novel Liar Dice won the Cinnamon Press Novel Writing Award in 2010 and was published in 2011. She lives on Dartmoor and writes occasional pieces about wildlife and nature. Her poems appear in a variety of poetry magazines and in several anthologies.
This entry was posted in Rebecca Gethin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My new year, my new Barefoot Book biz!

  1. sharonmccallum says:

    Fantastic idea Becky and what beautiful books they look! Your site is well designed and easy to wander through – I’m looking forward to having a good rummage 🙂 Best of luck with the project!

    • Hi Sharon, what lovely things to say. How nice of you to encourage me. It is rather daunting! The books actually are just up your street. Hope your poems are going ding-dong! I am on Bill’s clinic this term!

  2. Good luck with this, Becky. Your enthusiasm is inspiring!

  3. E.E. Nobbs says:

    Yes, I agree with what Sharon and Lindsay said 🙂

    Impressive. And I enjoyed learning more about your background in this post & your ‘ambassador’ profile. Sounds to me like a perfect match of person with a service. All the best in 2015, Becky.

    p.s I’m very glad you’re taking Bill’s Clinic but sorry we’re not doing it at the same time. I’m on the list for the fall.

Leave a Reply

