Elephant poems

To celebrate elephants in as many ways as possible and to roughly coincide with Kenya’s decision to burn tons of ivory on April 30th I’d like to publish your elephant poems on this site.  So it you have elephants in the attic, in your notebooks, in your folder, in your heads or anywhere who would like to come and join the herd I am trying to create, do please send them to me from here     (hope that works)  by May 9th and I will post them on this site.

About Rebecca Gethin

Rebecca Gethin is a poet and a novelist. Cinnamon Press published her third collection, All the Time in the World in 2017. Another pamphlet is forthcoming with Three Drops Press. Her second novel, What the horses heard, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2014. Her second poetry collection - A Handful of Water - was published by Cinnamon in 2013. Her first - River is the Plural of Rain - was published by Oversteps Books in 2009. Her novel Liar Dice won the Cinnamon Press Novel Writing Award in 2010 and was published in 2011. She lives on Dartmoor and writes occasional pieces about wildlife and nature. Her poems appear in a variety of poetry magazines and in several anthologies.
This entry was posted in Rebecca Gethin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elephant poems

  1. Valerie Morton says:

    Hi Rebecca,

    I noticed this and haven’t specifically sent this poem to the site as I am unsure whether it would even come anywhere near meeting your remit. So I am just sending here first so you can tell me or not.

    I have one of Dali’s elephant symbols in my living room which I find fascinating and although surreal in so many ways for me it represents the fragility of the plight of these wonderful animals and other species really.

    So here it is – if it does fit in with your thoughts I will send it properly. If not don’t worry – I would be only too grateful that you reminded me that I had begun to write this some time ago and tucked it away – glad to have at least got it out of the archives to finish it.

    I am gradually improving but it is slow – don’t think age helps. Thank you for the homeopathy – I am using them and very hopeful. I had hoped to be at the launch of The Chronicles of Eve but am not going to make it. Shame!!!

    But, physio tomorrow, surgeon on Friday, and I soldier on.

    But this is supposed to be about a poem so ……………………………….

    The Elephant on my Mantlepiece (after Salvador Dali)

    floats on spidery, footless legs of desire, it’s body carrying

    a heavy burden, tottering as if the world could fall into the sand

    or float away into the thin air of temptation tight-tailed, straining to carry the world’s sin, shackled only by gravity – a reminder

    that without the uncertain nature of survival, man’s lust and greed

    will end its very existence.

    Valerie Morton

    on broad shoulders. No howdah chair, no ornaments or warming blanket

    men shackled to the earth by gravity

    Reminding us that without the precarious nature of survival man’s lust or greed will end

    it’s very existence.

    The thousand muscles of the trunk straining to carry the world’s sin on its shoulders

    No foothold

    >

  2. Thank you, Valerie. iT is great and anyway nothing is outside the ‘remit’ ..a v powerful poem.

Leave a Reply

