Marg Roberts & A Time for Peace

Marg Roberts is the new Featured Writer.  She is both a poet as well as a novelist and her first book, A Time for Peace, which is published by Cinnamon Press is an absorbing and fascinating read.

I am excited to be meeting Marg on Saturday at 2pm as we are talking about our respective novels along with Jane Austin and News from Nowhere at York Explore as part of  York Literary Festival. Instead of asking her for an extract I asked her a few questions about her new book which you will find on the Featured Writer page as I thought this would be very illuminating. Which it is!

One of the things I really like about A Time for Peace is the dialogue, apart from the fact it is a rattling good story.  Marg has caught people’s voices perfectly. Every speaker speaks and thinks differently from any other and this is a kind of magic in a novel that I admire hugely.  I also admired the way all the characters’ lives have become enfolded by war and that somehow they have to try and make the best of it. All their motivations, fears and ordinary human weaknesses are revealed and this turns each one into a courageous and larger-than-life character.  In the end both main characters, Ellen, the young British nurse and Stefan, the cynical Serbian colonel must face what they fear the most in order to survive during the retreat in one of the worst ever winters.  I don’t know how Marg manages to make us feel that we really are in Serbia when so few of us know anything about the war in Serbia and what happened to that country during those years.

Marg is also a poet and was Warwick Poet Laureate in 2009-10. You can find her poems here

Looking forward to the next book, Marg!


About Rebecca Gethin

Rebecca Gethin is a poet and a novelist. Cinnamon Press published her third collection, All the Time in the World in 2017. Another pamphlet is forthcoming with Three Drops Press. Her second novel, What the horses heard, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2014. Her second poetry collection - A Handful of Water - was published by Cinnamon in 2013. Her first - River is the Plural of Rain - was published by Oversteps Books in 2009. Her novel Liar Dice won the Cinnamon Press Novel Writing Award in 2010 and was published in 2011. She lives on Dartmoor and writes occasional pieces about wildlife and nature. Her poems appear in a variety of poetry magazines and in several anthologies.
This entry was posted in Marg Roberts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marg Roberts & A Time for Peace

  1. E.E. Nobbs says:

    I enjoyed the conversation between you and Marg at the Featured Writers page. It seems to me that you two have important things in common!! Wishing you both a good day of discussions and readings at the festival 🙂

  2. Oh, nice of you to wish us well, Elly x

  3. Marg Roberts says:

    Thank you to both of you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s